Customer Support 7 days a week

Welcome Guest! You can not login or register.

Notification

Icon
Error

207 Pages«<120121122123124>»
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Gene  
#1211 Posted : Thursday, May 12, 2011 12:07:35 PM(UTC)
Gene

Groups: Senior Expert, Administrators

Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 4 post(s)
You are welcome Tony.

The full description on the defrost cycle in your dual evaporator refrigerator is attached to the reply.

Keep us posted.

Gene.
File Attachment(s):
Dual Evap defrost cycles.doc (356kb) downloaded 8 time(s).
inveigle5  
#1212 Posted : Friday, May 27, 2011 6:04:07 AM(UTC)
inveigle5

Groups: Registered

Hi Gene,

Thank you so much for putting so much information on this forum. I have never done any appliance repair before, but with you directions have managed to fairly easily discover that my fridge is having a defrost problem. I have a Kenmore 596.72289.200 with a bottom freezer. My only problem is I not sure about the details of ohm testing the defroster heater, thermostat, and control board (my model does not have a timer). I have located all three pieces, but I'm not sure which wires to test with the ohm meter, or what reading I want from the ohm meter. Here are my questions specifically. I would really appreciate your help. If I figure this out, my husband and father-in-law will be totally impressed! And even better, hopefully my fridge will work again.

Loren :)

1. From the pictures you attached a few posts ago, it looks like the defrost heater is actually the black wire-like structures around the metal grill and coils. Is that correct. If so, to test the ohms across that piece do I just touch the two ends of the ohm meter to either end of that black structure (with unit unplugged and freezer cold)? Do I need to remove the wires from their white plastic clips (harnesses?) or can I simply stick the probes of the ohm meter into the white clips and touch the metal I see inside? What reading should I expect?