Customer Support 7 days a week

Welcome Guest! You can not login or register.

Notification

Icon
Error

207 Pages«<99100101102103>»
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Gene  
#1001 Posted : Monday, September 13, 2010 7:18:46 PM(UTC)
Gene

Groups: Senior Expert, Administrators

Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 4 post(s)
Originally Posted by: r.rydberg@gmail.com Go to Quoted Post
Hi Gene,

Thanks for directing me here. I know its been a while, but I now have the fridge apart. The control board in the back has been tested and looked ok, I now have removed the defrost heater and thermostat. I am a real novice with a multimeter. In audible mode, the thermo beeps and the heater makes no noise, though they both show positive readings in digital (numeric) mode. The thermo shows varying readings that go up as 13 then back to zero. The heater's numeric reading fluctuates mostly between 3 and 4 without zeroing out. I think but am not sure this means the heater needs to be replaced? Please educate me.

Thanks-
-Rene

Rene,

I do not know how did you test the control board. There are no possible instrumental tests for this part, so it is still questionable.

The best way to test the defrost heater and thermostat is described in the text you quoted. If you would like to test them outside of the refrigerator, the defrost thermostat should be relatively cold (bellow 10°F) and its resistance reading should be close to 0 Ohms. The normal resistance for the heater should be about 22 Ohms.

The following article on our forum will explain in detail how to run a continuity test using either an analog meter or a digital meter - How To Check Continuity With Ohmmeter or you can read the instructions for your meter.

Gene.
LNav.VNav  
#1002 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 2:16:08 PM(UTC)
LNav.VNav

Groups: Registered

Hi Gene et al,